boyfromks
the second verse, sounds just like the first verse, but with different words
31 December 2004 12:22 A.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
So, today is the last day of 2004. It went pretty fast, the year, but I guess they always do. I went back and read my end-of-year entry from last year, and it's funny how much and how little things can change. On the plus side, I finally defended my dissertation proposal and have an interesting topic that my committee thinks is interesting (as well) and important. I've moved into a new, cool apartment in South Park, which I've really enjoyed, even if it is teeny tiny. I like my hardwood floors and private side patio and my cool neighborhood. I've made lots of progress with my music this year. I played a solo accoustic set at an open mic night at Twiggs, which was nerve wracking, but good. I've been writing really good songs, many of which have involved my new band, The Descent. I've done some recording with the new band, which also includes EB on drums, and possibly KS on bass. EB's been on sabbatical, but is back for good now, so things should progress well now. It's been awesome playing with these guys. I'm a much better guitar player and songwriter. DS and I work together really well. I'm not saying we're Lennon/McCartney, but there is a really good give and take there, which has been really enjoyable. As always, music has been my refuge and sanctuary, whether it's making it, listening to it, or seeing it live, it continues to be one of the things that matter most to me. I've been to many great shows this year, though I've not been the best at talking about them here. I've seen good friends get married this year, spent quality time with my family, and seen friends that I hadn't seen in a really long time. I've also met some new people and made new friends, which is always nice. 2004 has been a pretty stressful year, in many ways, and I've not always been in the best of moods. But as my new friend EH said recently, I'm in a different place now, and I look at 2005 with a true sense of optimism and hope. I shaved my beard and chopped my hair off. People keep asking me why I did it (my sister, ever the detective, asked who I was cleaning up for). I guess I did it for myself, for a symbolic guesture of a new beginning. I have a lot to be thankful for, as I am a truly lucky guy. I like to complain a lot, but really, I don't have much about which to complain. I've been talking a lot this break with EH, which has been really cool. It's a little weird/awkward to meet someone a week before leaving for home when you have a spark or conenction with that person. My family thinks I'm a vampire after the long nights and mornings I've spent up on line or on the phone talking, but it's been pretty cool as well. It's always fun when you find someone new that challenges your mind, your assumptions, your actions, your behaviors, and stimulates new understanding. It's also rare. And even more rare, for me, when it's a girl and one that has some interest in me as well. As I said in my last entry, things are somewhat complex, but they'll be resolved very soon. As Dave says, just because there's double coverage, doesn't mean you still can't throw the ball. In this case, if I split the safety and the corner back for the touchdown, so much the better. But if not, the attempt was still worthy, and the game goes on.

So, 2005, what will it bring? When I read this entry next year at this time will I be in the same place? A better one? Who knows, but I'll get there with the support of my family, near and far, and my friends, old and new.

Good bye, 2004. Hello, 2005.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music:

<< >>