boyfromks
ballot box blues
03 November 2004 10:57 A.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
Yesterday, I spent 16 hours working at a polling place in Chula Vista. It was really quite an amazing experience. It helped, of course, that M and AS were working there as well, but it was also cool to see democracy in action. We had over 500 voters show up to vote, for a bit over 50% turn out. Despite not having the long lines or massive turnout of other areas, I still got to see the whole variety of voters, from the guy in the NRA t-shirt that says "The Second Amendment: The original homeland security" to the indie rock chick who walked in, voted only on the presidential election and then turned in her ballot. I think my favorite voter was a young hispanic woman with two boys, who looked about 5 and 7. Most of the day I dealt with people using provisional ballots, so I explained to the woman what to do. It took her awhile to go through the ballot, while her sons got increasingly restless and energetic in the voting area. Eventually, she comes back and hands me the sealed envelope and the ballot. I had to point out that the ballot was supposed to go in the envelope. She was embarrased and said that this was the first time she had ever voted. I was so proud of her at that moment. We got the problem taken care of and she went off with her boys.

It saddens me, then, that the election turned out the way it did. I hope that mother doesn't feel as angry and frustrated as I do right now. I don't want to have witnessed the first and last time she ever votes.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music: Death Cab for Cutie - Company Calls Epilogue

<< >>