boyfromks
Coachella
09 May 2004 9:10 P.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
Hmmmm, well, I suppose there is now enough distance to write the Coachella entry. Overall, the weekend was a ton of fun. I got to see my cousin who flew in from Ann Arbor for the show, as well as my good friend AR who lives up in LA now. Both days sold out this year, and it was noticeably more crowded this year. It was almost too many people.

Nevertheless, the music was amazing. The highlight of the weekend was The Pixies. Their set was tight and they sounded as if they hadn't been broken up for the past 13 years or so. I also saw, in no particular order, Belle and Sebastian, Radiohead, Sparta, The Thrills, Mogwai, the Cure, BRMC, Broken Social Scene, Bright Eyes, The Flaming Lips, Death Cab for Cutie, and Trail of Dead. Everyone was great, except for Trail of Dead, who were disappointing. Which is too bad, as I like their recorded stuff.

Camping was fun. The old roomate, his girlfriend, and his brother in law shared a camp site with me, and we were close to several other friends. We always stay at this small state park with a human-made lake. The sun rises at like 6 am, so by 7:30 or so it's too hot to stay in your tent, so we spent a lot of time sitting in the shade, drinking water, playing dominoes (muthafukah!), and steeling ourselves for the day of festival going.

The drive back by myself on Sunday night was long and tiring. Thankfully, however, I'd parked each day in Lot 3, which was the farthest one from the entrance. So, while it took me 20 mins to walk back to my car, I was able to get out of the parking lot with no delay at all, unlike some people who were stuck in the parking lot for a couple hours.

Needless to say, I was pretty worthless on Monday. I was able to make it to see Belle and Sebastian at Sprekles Theater that night, which was good. They were awesome, playing for almost 2 hours.

It was a great weekend.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music: Liars - Hold and It Will Happen Anyway

<< >>