boyfromks
it's a bit chili in here
12 November 2003 11:07 P.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
So, I cut my finger last night. I was reaching into m "misc. cookware" drawer, looking for the can opener, but instead found the edge of the blade attachment of my small food processor. Damn, it hurt. So, I put on some adhesive bandages, and got back to work. I was making chili, which M. and I ate this evening. We'd also rented Soul Caliber II for the GameCube, since I still have DL's from 2 weeks ago. I think M. beat me with every character in the game, although I sometimes held my own pretty well.

Of course, she's the one that dressed as an Anime character for Halloween.

In honor of the tasty chili, here's how to make my vegan chili.

1 green bell pepper

1 med. onion

several cloves garlic

1 package (12-16 oz.) extra firm tofu

1 large can whole, peeled tomatoes

2 cans red kidney beans

1 can black beans

1 can cannellei(sp?) beans

1 can whole kernal corn

1/2 cup chili powder

1/4 cup cumin

1 bottle (12 oz) of beer

Chop onion and pepper and sautee in a medium pan, add in minced garlic. Cut tofu into 1-2 cm cubes and add to pan. Stir periodically until onions and peppers are fully cooked.

In a crock pot or slow cooker, add the rest of the ingredients (draining the beans) followed by the vegetables. Stir everything well and cook on low or medium setting overnight to 24 hours, or at least 8 hours. Stir once in a while.

Garnish with shredded cheese (real if not a vegan) and crumbled corn chips, enjoy sereral cold beers whilst earing.

Mmmm, mmmm, good.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music: The Saturday People - No Photos Exist

<< >>