boyfromks
fire on the brain
28 October 2003 8:01 P.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
So, school cancelled again tomorrow because of the fires. I think tomorrow will be the last day, as the wind is now blowing from the west, and pushing the fire away from the main part of the city. But, I have no idea what they base their decission on when it comes to closing things down. It's not like school being opened or closed effects me too much. I mean, I'm not taking classes anymore, and I'm not TA-ing for anything. The RA work I do can be mostly done from home (er, any place with an internet connection, really). I did miss a meeting with my advisor today to talk about the latest draft of my dissertation proposal, so that's annoying. I don't know if I'll have to wait for his office hours next week, or what, since peoples' schedules are all fucked up at this point. It is annoying as well, b/c I was supposed to go out with V. on Thursday night, but she asked to postpone till next week b/c of all the crap going on. ::sigh:: I'm just impatient, plus with campus closed I haven't seen her this week. Oh well, I'll survive. :)

***************************************

So, a local cool radio station had a trivia contest to win free tickets to see REM play a gig at a small venue in LA. You had to answer 10 questions correctly, then they drew three winners. I answered all 10 correctly (heh, give me 10 mins and an internet connection and I can answer most things :) ), but did not have my name drawn. Only 28 people answered all 10 correctly, however, so I feel good about that. Plus, they're giving me a free copy of the new REM greatest hits CD. (The CD release being the point of the concert/contest) That's pretty cool. ***************************************

I was disappointed in those Republicans that were bitching about Davis being slow to respond to the fire situation. I mean, come on, the whole damn southern part of the state is on fire, it's not like this is the only thing going on.

I do wonder, however, if you could compare the map of those who voted for the recall/Ah-nold with the extent of the fire. Given that the fires appear to (roughly) be in the more conservative spots in the state, this could be God's way of punishing people for the recall.

Oh wait, having Herr Gropenfuher as our govenor is punishment enough.


___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music: Mountain Goats - Peacocks

<< >>