boyfromks
full report
25 August 2003 10:05 A.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
Ok, so I promised more details about yesterday. I picked up M. around 4:00, despite the best guard-dog efforts of her dog Holden and his new "sister" Phoebe (who is a very cute puppy). The drive to LA was plagued by lots of heavy traffic (which I really hate) but the time went quickly, as M. is a great car-trip companion. Our conversations covered everything from whom Kirsten Dunst is dating (Jake Gyllenhaal) to what the rights and responsibilities of citizenship, and many topics inbetween.

The show was at the Greek Theater, which is in Griffith Park. I'd never been to either place, so it was cool to see new things. We finally got there around 6:45 or so and parked in the paid parking, where we were crammed in toe-to-tail with the other cars. Looked like it would be really fun after the show. I'd made some awesome food for the picnic: foccacia (sp?) bread with grilled eggplant, onion, red/yellow/orange bell peppers, and goat cheese; jalapeno and cheeder Kettle Chips; a greek salad; fresh strawberries; and a bottle of Australian white wine. We found a little secluded spot away from the parking activities and enjoyed the food, which was amazing.

If I do say so myself. :)

So, we got into the venue for the last 3 songs of Bright Eyes. I thought he was awesome. He had the full backing band with him, including a guy on trumpet. I love the trumpet. Conor came back out when they were done to play a single song just him on the accoustic. I don't know his stuff that well, but he played the song I know really well, so that made me really happy.

Belle and Sebastian were, of course, awesome. I can't recall the whole set list, but they did play Expectations, The State I Am In, String Bean Jean(!), Dylan in the Movies, Judy and the Dream of Horses, Woman's Realm, There's Too Much Love. They played a complete version of The Scobby Show, which shows up in an abbreviated form on the soundtrack to Storytelling. They also played Lord Antony, a super old song that I've only heard on crappy quality mp3 demos floating around the internet. It appears, finally, on their upcoming album, and it sounded awesome live. For the encore they brought out the producer for their new album and he played bass and sang while they covered the Buggle's song "Video Killed the Radio Star." Now, I didn't catch the dudes name, so I'm not sure if it was the actual guy from the buggles, but it sounded like him. At any rate, it sounded super cool. I just wish they'd played longer. Oh well, it was still awesome.

Our seats were really good, so the view was great. We were also super close to the exit, so once the show was over, we were back to the car super quick. And, eventhough the car was doing it's best sardine immitation, I was able to maneuver out of the tight spot and escape from the parking lot without waiting for traffic. I know we got lucky with that. The drive home was smooth and went quickly. I dropped M. off around 1:00, so not too crazy late.

Now, of course, I have a ton of midterms to grade and a bunch of RA work to do. Oh well, it was worth it.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music: Refrigerator - How You Continue Dreaming

<< >>