boyfromks
Total Recall
07 August 2003 4:27 P.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
So, I watched Ah-nold announce last night that he was running for governor. I was a little bothered by the whole thing. I've met Arnold before (I had an uncle that worked with him as part of the President's Council on Physical Fitness), and he was really friendly. He really liked my uncle (who was one of the coolest people ever, when he was still alive) and the feeling was mutual. So, it's not that I think Arnold is a bad guy. I mean, he's better than all the other Republican options, I'd say. But that isn't really setting the bar that high. I guess I was bothered by Leno giving Arnold the free exposer. It probably didn't make any real difference, in the end, as he's so damn fameous anyway. I was also bothered by all the movie quotes he used. I mean, I'm not surprised. For a large segment of the population, he wants to remind them every chance he has that he is a movie star. While at the same time, claiming his lack of political experience is not a problem (or even an asset) Maybe he wouldn't be that bad of a governor. I really don't know. Politically, he's really an unknown. I mean, he is a Republican, and he appears pretty cozy with the Bush family, but I don't know if that puts him in the neocon camp. Probably not, if a Kennedy married him.

I don't know if I should be annoyed at the Democrats that are going to run. Given Davis lack of popularity, it seems like he's probably dead, even if there were no Democratic candidates. (Perhaps not, however. Having zero democratic options would be a very costly signal to democrats that they would have to turn out in large number s to vote to keep Davis, or face the lottery of the replacement vote.) I guess I am annoyed, b/c the democrats will probably steal votes from Ariana Huffington, whom I hope will win if Davis loses. But again, who knows? if enough Republicans and democrats and whoevers run, and the vote distribution is relatively even, Huffington could pull it out.

We can only hope.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music: The Microphones - The Glow, Part 2

<< >>