boyfromks
the calm after the storm
28 April 2003 11:33 P.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
So, I'm still tired from this weekend.

But, in a good way.

I was at the Coachella Arts and Music festival in Indio, CA. 75 or so musical groups, 2 days in the low desert, and a lot of $2-bottles of water.

Drove up on Friday afternoon with Laura, set up our respective tents, and hung out that night with Blaire, her friend Adam from her work, Emily and Matt. Saturday, the line to enter was super long and VERY slow. I'd drank almost 2 gallons of water that morning, so I spent the entire time in line pondering what people would do if I just whipped it out right then and there. Thankfully, I didn't have to make that choice and made it in in time.

The music was good. Highlights included the Blue Man Group, The Libertines, Underworld, Iggy and the Stooges, Ben Kweller, Sonic Youth, and Hot Hot Heat. I was really disappointed with the set by Blur. I luuuuuuuv Blur, but their new album, which hasn't even been released yet (but I've downloaded), isn't very good. So, of course, they play almost nothing but songs from it. AND, of the two "old" songs they played, one was Song 2, which is their big hit in the US. So, it's not like they refused to pander at all, just in a really shitty way. Oh well. I guess I'll just have to concentrate on my memories of seeing them in Germany in '97.

So, overall it was a good weekend. I was completely exhausted today. I got back around 1:00 AM or so, but still woke up around 8:00 AM and couldn't get back to sleep. Instead, I spent the day in a daze, completely useless to the world. Eventually this evening, I went to Shakespear's Pub for Scott's birthday, which was nice. I got there around 9:30, but most people had been there since 8, so a lot of people were leaving once I got there. I hadn't really eaten any dinner, so I was rather pissed when the curry fries I ordered got rejected by the asshole in the kitchen, who decided that just because the bar was open that he didn't have to do his job. Oh well, it just made the 3 pints of Newcastle go that much quicker through an empty stomach.

So, that was the weekend and change.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music:

<< >>