boyfromks
politics, bitches!
23 June 2004 8:34 P.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
I bought My Life, the Clinton autobiography, yesterday. Well, actually, my dad told me to buy it on him. I haven't cracked it open yet, but look forward to reading it. It's somewhat appropriate, I suppose, to get it now as excitement continues to build toward the presidential election. I was in college in DC when the whole Monica thing was going down, and it really sickened me on domestic politics. For most of a year I wouldn't even crack open the front section of the Post, as it was essentially a tabloid at that point. I followed the 2000 election, but not with the interest that I've had in the current election cycle. I've given money to both Howard Dean during the primary season and, as I wrote about previously, donated to the Kerry campaign as well.

I think a number of factors have restored my interest to new levels, even for myself. The most obvious of which is the horrible job that Bush II has done. I never bought into the whole "there's no difference between Gore and Bush" in the first place, but the results have been even worse that I imagined. The upcoming election is going to be one of the most important decisions this country has faced in a long time, and I'm terrified to think of what will happen if Bush wins again.

I've always been a strong lefty, though I'm relatively pragmatic and more concerned about solving problems rather than ideology. But the past 3.5 years have recommited my partisan feelings, mostly because the administration (and their wing of the Republican party) obviously has no desire to reach consensus or solve actual problems. Not that I have problems with all Republicans. John McCain, Olympia Snowe, even Dick Luger and Charles Hegel (I think, the Sen. from Nebraska) are much more moderate than the ideologues of the administration and often work with the Democrats. That I can respect. I can say that Bush's personality annoys the hell out of me, but it's the absolute bankrupt nature of his policies and the moral hypocracy of his administration that actually makes me hate him.

My friends here have also had an influence on me. Not that they are more liberal or even more involved or that we talk more about politics than my friends in DC, but more that they provide a sounding board and echo chamber for our discussions that amplifies the stuff mentioned above. They're also good about being more motivated than I am to get things going, so I can tag along. Plus, seeing M., L., and SG putting their beliefs into action is inspiring. I've had many long conversations with M. about the role that we as individuals, and I as an academic and student of politics, can and should play in politics. As an academic, it's easy to retreat into the ivory tower and wrap yourself in claims of objectivity. Balancing reponsibilities to town and gown, to borrow a cliche, is somethign that I'm still exploring. My parents were always very involved with the local Democratic Party organization in Kansas, so I learned the frustration of living in a "Red" state, before the term even existed. I've been having a desire to get in touch with that aspect of my past, and of my parents, cause it's something I really admire about them. M. always pushes me to speak out more and help inform people and to use my knowledge of politics and economics to make things better. That's one of the things I like best about her. So, I look forward to her starting her new web page devoted to getting young people excited and motivated to vote. She wants me to write some content for it, an opinion column, I suppose. It may be only a small thing, but it's a start, and that's good. Besides, if a bunch of grad students and 20somethings can raise over $1,300 for John Kerry in one night, as SG did the other night, small contributions can add up to significant outcomes.

I know it's not even July yet, and I have many more hours left to peruse the Post and Times on line before the ballots are finally cast. I'm sure as we get closer to November, the blog will become more political.

You've been warned.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music: Pedro the Lion - Letter from a Concerned Follower

<< >>