boyfromks
under pressure (dun dun dun dudda dun dun)
27 April 2004 10:44 A.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
So, I guess I left people hanging for a few days.

Bowies, was, of course, amazing. I drove up to Anaheim Friday afternoon, thinking I would beat traffic if I left at 2:00. I was wrong, so the drive to Anaheim took almost 3 hours. The reason I got to see the show was that my best friend from grade school, whom I still keep in contact with, is friends with the Polyphonic Spree and is playing violin for them on their tour with Bowie. D. had to go to sound check before I got there, so I hung out at a coffee shop and then a microbrewery across the street from the Pond while he did sound check. He met me after sound check and we got to chat for awhile. I gave him a CD with my songs on it, which he was happy to get. I was supposed to have sent it to him awhile ago, but I'm bad about those sorts of things. Eventually, he had to go get ready. I had some dinner, chatted with some random family that asked if they could sit at my table, and then headed for the venue.

The seat I had was really good. On stage right, 7 rows from the front, and looking straight down the front edge of the stage. The Polyphonic Spree sounded really good. I enjoyed watching all the different people they had on stage with different instruments. Plus, they all play with such energy and enthusiasm.

Bowie looked, sounded, and acted amazingly. He played for a good two hours, and played a wide range of songs, including stuff from the 60s, my favorite track from his 97 album Earthling. He finished the main set with Heroes, opened the encore with 5 Years and finished with Ziggy Stardust. It was a great evening, made even better by getting to hang out with someone I've been friends with since I was 2 years old.

Saturday, I was at CM's place at 9 am for a "watch the Chargers blow the draft" party. We had a half keg of beer and were not sober at noon. That was fun, and the Chargers actually didn't fuck things up. Not that I care about the Chargers anyway. That night we celebrated MP's birthday and went to Bangra night (south asian dance music) at an Indian place in La Jolla. It was an okay time, but I was tired by that point, the place was hot and noisy, and the girl I was supposed to bring cancelled at the last minute, so I wasn't in the best stay out late moood. I've spent the two days since trying to get work done, and not succeeding. Oh well, have to turn a new draft of the prospectus in on Thursday.

Friday, I leave for Coachella. Oh yeah.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music: Bob Dylan - Fourth Time Around (live 1966)

<< >>