boyfromks
ugh
31 January 2004 3:15 A.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
Hmmmm, so tonight was an interesting evening.

I hung out with M. and some of her friends from high school. It was interesting, as I've heard of several of these people, but never been introduced. M's ex-boyfriend was there for a while, as he's friends of these high school people as well. It was kind of weird, as, in the past I mostly wanted to beat the crap out of this guy on general principle. Tonight, I just found it mostly humorous that he was around for a while. This was interesting, in that my general feelings about this guy in the past were, for obvious reasons, not warm fuzzies. But now, it just made me laugh. Esp. when M. told him (under her breath so I wouldn't hear, but still did) that he needed to be polite and say good bye to me. I got a real kick out of that. I guess it's like when you're dealing with someone much more competitive about something than you are, the best way to get them is to not give a shit about what they think is so important. I was friendly, and not in an ungenuine way, or at least I think so. I guess residual feelings of dislike fade with time as well.

It was also nice to meet more of M.'s friends. I've heard so much about these people, but had never met them. M., of course, met all of my friends almost as soon as we started going out. I always felt (probably incorrectly) like she was embarrased to introduce me to these people, esp. since they were all friends of her and her ex. Maybe it says something that I never met these people until months after we'd stoppped dating. I dunno.

It was just nice to hang out and not go home feeling like shit. I've spent the last year of my life alternating between being depressed about either school or my love life, neither of which has been that fun to dwell on. Recently, these issues haven't weighed as much on my mind, and I've been better able to focus on what really matters. I need to write my dissertation and get the hell out of here. My focus had been lost. I can see it coming back into view.

Time to get back to what really matters.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music:

<< >>