boyfromks
something
02 January 2004 11:18 P.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
Hmmmm. Mixed emotions. I just finished watching K-State lose to Ohio State in the Fiesta Bowl. Now, nominally, I really dislike K-State; yet, I was cheering for them tonight. I suppose SG would be happy I was cheering for her alma mater, but sad that they lost. Oh well, at least KU won in basketball tonight, and I got to watch both games on TV with my dad. I also drank every beer he had in his refrigerator.

Of course, only the first one was a Bass, and the next 8 were Corona Light, hence I'm still hardly even wokring a buzz.

Today is my mom's birthday, so we continued our tradition of the past few years and I took her to lunch and an indie film. Two years ago, it was Amelie and last year Frida. This year, the movie was The Station Agent. It was a cool movie about a dwarf that inherits an abandoned rail station and moves there to be alone. He is thwarted in this attempt by a cuban guy who runs a mobile lunch cart and a depressed artist. The main character, the dwarf, gave an awesome performance . . . very understated. The past two movies have been M.'s favorites, but I doubt she's all into this one. The best thing about the theater we went to, however, is that on your birthday you get a free ticket, a free popcorn and soda combo, a free coffee drink at the coffee shop next door, and a free movie rental from the rental store on the other side of the theater. We didn't use the movie rental, but everything else was taken advantage of. Oh, and they sell Free State brewery beer in the theater. It's perhaps the best beer ever. A $3 pint of their Oatmeal Stout made the movie that much better.

Lunch was good too. I had veal piccata. It was awesome . . . I made sure that the veal was extra tortured. (just kidding iluvtunes, but feel free to yell at me anyway).

New Year's Eve was nice as well. I was in Kansas City at my aunt and uncle's house. Growing up, they would always have NYE parties, but hadn't in the several years since their kids entered college. I got to see a lot of my relatives, which was good. I also helped attempt to finish a 6-liter bottle of sparkling wine. It was the biggest bottle of wine I've ever seen. Despite my best efforts, we didn't finish it. I guess I'm getting old. Surprsingly enough, no hangover the next morning, despite the 10+ glasses of sparkling wine I drank. I wonder if there was actually any alcohol there.

So, I'm pondering shaving the beard. I haven't had goofy sideburns for a long time. Maybe I'll go totally clean shaven. Hell, why not shave the whole fucking head. Who do I have to make happy? No fucking one, that's who.

So, 2004 so far has been . . . eh. I have a feeling it's going to suck even more than 2003 did. I guess you can take the boy out of the Catholic Church, but you can't take the Catholic out of the boy.

Stay tuned.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music: none

<< >>