boyfromks
Waste another year
11 September 2003 3:27 P.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
"I'd like to salute, the ashes of American flags/and all the falling leaves, filling up shoping bags."

So, last night M. and I drove to LA and met up with DS and E to see Wilco and REM at the Hollywood Bowl. It was a really nice evening. The drive up wasn't bad at all. We had to eat our picinic outside the venue, as they weren't allowing alcohol into the show.

As the opener, Wilco only played for about 50 mins. They sounded really good. Played about half of YHF, one each from Mermaid Ave. 2 and Summerteeth, 2 off of Being There, and 2 or 3 new ones. They're going into the studio soon, and the new ones sounded good. REM were great. This was the 5 time I've seen them, and they were great, as always. They played a bunch of older stuff, like 4 songs from Document, a couple off of Pagentry and Green, many of my favorites from there last 2 albums, Electolite and So Fast, So Numb from New Adventures (their most underrated album, IMHO), like 5 from Automatic, and some other random ones. They played for a full two hours, which was great. THe highlight, however, was (Don't Go Back to) Rockville, one of my faveorite REM songs, and one I've never seen live before. Mike Mills sounded so great. He's totally my hero.

The drive back went quickly, as M is a great road trip companion. I was beat when I got home, but it was worth it.

Damn, I sure do like music.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music: Clean - Point That Thing Somewhere Else

<< >>