boyfromks
Where's my guardian angel when I need one?
28 July 2003 8:35 P.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
Jesus, what a day. I was in Ohio this weekend for my newphew's baptism and I just got back in to town like 90 mins ago. I got off the plane and was pretty dazed from spending the past 7 hours in airplanes/airports. I'd just gotten off the plane, stopped to use the bathroom, washed my hands, walked out the door, went about 50 ft and realized I didn't have my carry-on bag. I turned around, went back to the bathroom and the bag was gone. As I'd left the bathroom the first time, a cop was walking in, so I go to the security people and ask what would happen to a stray bag. They send me to the harbor police lost & found, which, of course, was closed. I call the number on their door and get no answer. SO, I try again, "we're unable to complete your call at this time." Fuck. Meanwhile, S. had left to pick me up and didn't know about my little problem. So, I talk to the Continental baggage service person, who was super nice. I head outside, see S. driving by and flag him down. I call the Harbor police again, this time using 619, which I shouldn't have to do, as my cell is a 619 number, and it goes through and I get a machine. So, I leave a message as I ride back home.

I'm all keyed up at this point and can't calm down. I decide I'm hungry and head to LA Posta for some food. WHile I'm ordering, a guy asks me if I'll buy him a taco. Having lived in DC, I've developed a pretty thick skin for that sort of thing, plus, I'm pretty much an asshole. Anyway, so he asks me to buy him a taco, and, for once, I say, "ok." Maybe M. has had some sort of positive influence on me, or maybe I was just hoping for some good karma with my bag. I dunno. Anyway, so I order him a chicken taco. He invites me to sit down with him and his friend. He seemed concerned that I was just messing with him. Maybe that happens. ANyway, I was still a little keyed up and jumpy, so I said no thanks, but stood there and talked with him while waiting for the food. The next person that orders is this tall dude with a shaved head and a tie. The homeless guy asks him for some spare change, and the guy says, "Can you find a bank? You need to find one, cause I'm not a bank." Homeless dude takes it well. Like I said, I don't usually give people money, but when I say no, I don't act like an asshole when I do it. Eventually, my food arrives and I give the guy his taco. I ask him his name, and he says, "Angel." I introduce myself,a nd he says, "I live in Presido Park, come see me, I'll set you up with all sorts of . . ." I think he said burritos, but that didn't make any sense. Anyway, it's been an eventful 90 mins. I'm pretty calm by now.

Now, I just hope they have my bag.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music:

<< >>