boyfromks
Dave, a sea breeze is a girl drink
16 June 2003 10:08 P.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
M. always says that I obsess too much about getting old. I dunno if this truly is the case, or if I just like to pretend that it is. Maybe a bit of both. I guess being constantly surrounded by 18-22 year olds just highlightsthose feelings.

At any rate, one fear about getting old, which I think most people have, is turning into your parents. I mean, I love my parents and all, and while I'm sure I've picked up some of their good traits, I only seem to notice the bad, or at least, annoying ones.

Which brings me to grapefruit. My mom has this skill at buying things at the grocery store without looking at the label. Thus, she'll buy a 12 pack of Coke (with 100% RED packaging) thinking she's buying a package of Diet Coke (with the 100% silver (i.e., NOT RED) packaging. Inevitably, this would drive me nuts (silly, I know, but my mom kicks ass, so I have to bitch about something, right?!?). So, the other day at the store I buy a pre-packed plastic bag of oranges, since I'd been mooching off of a similar bag belonging to my roomate for the past week. So, I tell S. to help himself to the oranges. Later in the week, he informs me that I had infact bought a bag full of grapefruit, not oranges.

Arrrrgghhh! Curse you genetics!

See, the thing is, I really am not fond of grapefruits at all. Too bitter, or something. I dunno. At any rate, S. todl me that they were really good, sweet, and good enough to peel and eat. So, eventually, I tried one, I mean, they're paid for, right? I don't have any of those sharp grapefruit-specific spoons that I remember from childhood, but I cut one in half anyway, so as to eat it in proper grapefruit style. Apparently, those spoons are pointy for a reason.

Who knew?

So, a few minutes ago, I was hungry, as the late lunch from this afternoon was long gone. I decided to try peeling one this time. And as I began to peel it, I was hit by a powerful scent of grapefruit, and immediately was taken back in time to my late grandfathers house in Sun City, AZ. He had some grapefruit trees (lemon, orange, and tangerine as well), and the smell totally took me back. Nice memory, too. I'm always amazed at the connections that can be made between memories and smells. A powerful trigger, that's for sure. Also, I've been fighting a cold off and on for like 2 weeks now, and this weekend has been the first time in a while that my sense of smell has truly been working.

I discovered this on Saturday night when I picked up M. for dinner. As soon as she closed the door, my car was filled with this subtle, yet intoxicating scent. A combination of perfume (Magnolia) and lotion (Rose, if I remember correctly). Whatever it was, it worked. Wow. I'm surprised I was able to pay attention to the drive north on the 805.

In less exciting news, I cleaned out our refrigerator tonight and cleaned every nook and cranny of the inside. It looks pretty good now, if I do say so myself.

Which I do.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music:

<< >>