boyfromks
strategery
25 February 2003 8:10 P.M.
___________________________________________________________________________
It seems like every day the court of King George II finds a new and inventive way to piss me off. Today's classic move involves George and his cronies raising their unilateral nature to new heights. The administration is now claiming that a UN Security Council vote counter to the wishes of the administration would discredit the UN as an institution. Now, whether this is true or not, I'm not sure. In fact, the opposite is more likely to be true; if the other nations cave to the strong-arm tactics of Cheney and Rove, then the multilateralism of the UN will be nothing but a sham. No matter what, I don't think the administration cares either way. Given their past track record of fucking over every other instance of international cooperation, it wouldn't surprise me if the administration wanted the UN to go away. I'm sure it would make Jesse Helms happy.

I'm faced with a quandry over this whole war issue. On the one hand, I don't want war because of the cost, and the destruction, but especially because I think it will be ineffective in the long run, and likely counterproductive. On the other hand, however, if war is averted (which I think could happen with Saddam taking the exile option) it will only serve to encourage Bush in his ham-handed, unilateral mis-use of American power. He may win this battle, but he's starting a war no one can win.

Strategery, indeed.
___________________________________________________________________________

|

Current Music:

<< >>